For The People

Mps Sworn in

Wednesday morning saw the swearing in of the new members of parliament at. Chief Justice, Mogoeng Mogoeng, presided over proceedings.

The President, National Assembly Speaker and Deputy will also be elected in parliament. The MPs will have to raise their right hand at the front of the podium and take an oath in a national language of their choice.

The EFF party leader Julius Malema proceeded to the front in dance, where he participated in doing the infamous dance, the ‘vosho’, multiple times as the MPs applauded.

David Mabuza, Deputy President of the Republic, withdrew from being sworn in as MP as he has been implicated by the ANCs integrity commission as being unfit to hold public office. Mabuza wants to clear his name before being sworn in.  He has not been charged or convicted for any wrong doing.

The Presidents inauguration takes place on Saturday at the Loftus Versveld Stadium in Pretoria and he is expected to announce his Cabinet thereafter.

Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.